Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie needing some general help+ which motorcycle?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by jdimitri, Apr 16, 2008.

1. Hey folks..

I'm turning 18 in 2 weeks or so and i'm looking for a nice 250cc bike for my learner's license

It's my first time riding motorcycles but i've been in 125cc scooters for about 2 weeks in bali (we rode around fairly fast after a while, reaching around 95km/h). But i obviously have no idea on what to do in case of gears

Going by ride-tek courses, all i need is the Learner Permit Course right? I don't have my car Ls, should that be a problem?

Oh, and i've been checking out motorcycles and the ones that seems ideal are the Honda Hornet, VTR250, CB250 and CBF250 (looks nice.. but seems a little plastick-y?) in that order

I don't mind paying the extra cash if it's worth it, which one would you get if you were me? I'm about 178cm tall and 80kgs

I'm eyeing the hornet in the classifieds but i prefer black bikes, although the blue is growing on me little by little

I would probably also need one of those ventura racks so i can strap my small acoustic guitar amp to the back for gigs (problem getting them with hornets?)

Any help would be much appreciated!
  2. Hi, I am a nub too, however I should be picking my hornet up this Friday afternoon (waiting on a fork rebuild as I wasn't happy with the seal condition), I'd be happy to check to see how a rear rack would fit on the H250 if you would like --- unless someone else out there has already fitted one --- you should be able to without too much hassle though, as I can remember seeing one advertised in the tradingpost with one already attached.