Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

newbie, long rides and sore wrists

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Nimco, Sep 16, 2011.

1. I expect a few jokes to come from this posting particularly around wrist and exercising....

I've been riding for a couple of months now every day to work and back and have built up enough confidence to go for longer rides to the royal national park and the likes. One issue I have found is by the end of a 2 hour ride I experience a pain in my wrist on the clutch arm on the underside, it seems to be from the repetitive motion of changing gear (i ride a ninja 250 and find I am constantly changing gears in traffic). It becomes so intense that I struggle to pull in the clutch by the end of the ride.

My arms are relaxed most of the time and I've been training myself to rest my hands lightly on the bars and not hold on too tight and i'm using legs and posture to hold my bodyweight. Sooooo.... i'm trying to work out what is causing the pain? Is it something that will get better the more I ride and build up muscles in the arm/wrist? Incorrect position of clutch lever? Or something I am doing wrong with my technique?

2. angle of your wrist? might be pulling the clutch too far? set it so you only need a brief pull (so to speak) less than 1/3. probably only need that already if you get the timing right.

3. as soon as you get some more experience and confidence you wont need to use the clutch to change gears

4. I've always set my bikes up with clutch lever height set so with fingers resting on the lever the back of the hand is in line with the forearm.
    Try it. If it doesn't work or you don't like it, move it back.