Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

newbie from SE melbourne

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by raspompy, Jun 1, 2012.

1. Hi all,

I’m new to the bike scene other than riding a scooter back in my home country; I’ve always wanted to own one, so I started looking for one a while ago hoping to find a good deal for a first bike.

Though I knew it’s not Lams approved , I went way over my head and got a 04 gsxr600,just because it was cheap (or at least I think) after reading a lot of posts, I wish had done some more research before and probably would have settled for a smaller bike.

I just got my learners and I’m thinking of swapping with a +500cc lams approved bike or buying a smaller bike just to get some experience.I’d like to use it on the tracks one day though…However I am wondering, is there anyone who started with a big bike?

Any thoughts or comments..

2. Welcome

Some interesting questions raised here I look forward to seeing the responses.

Good luck.

Cheers Jeremy

3. G'day raspompy. I'm also SE rider and an L plater, keen for a ride any time. I have a 500, but it's definitely not a 'big' bike... not with my frame sitting on it anyway. Hit me up if you wanna go for a cruise.

4. First of all, Welcome!

I wouldn't want to be riding an "illegal" bike if you lived in the metro area. If you live out of town, well weigh up the risks. But that aside and most importantly, do you feel comfortable riding a bigger bike?

Your first bike (well larger then a scooter) should be forgiving so you can learn quickly from you mistakes, i don't think a 600cc sports bike would be, although you would get better handling and braking.