Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie from Perth

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Claresy, Oct 23, 2007.

1. Howdy y’all, thought it was about time I introduced myself. I’m new to this motorbike caper but like many of you out there, I’ve caught the bug too. I haven’t managed to haul myself down to the licensing centre to get my learner’s yet but that day will come soon I hope.

I’ve done a lot of surfing the net about what bike would suit my somewhat un-slender frame but let’s face it it's gonna come down to what I feel comfortable on and what I can afford (oh great, now I sound just like my dad!!!). I checked out the Kawasaki, Suzuki and Yamaha 250 cruisers but I ended up narrowing it down to a Hyosung Aquila GV250. Now before any knockers out there get on my case, don’t worry, I’m not about to part with my hard-earned $'s until I’ve actually ridden one. I was hoping someone reading this will point me in the right direction of a riding instructor in Perth that uses the GV250. I’d also like to get opinions about the upgraded exhaust option / part / thing, as the only thing I’ve heard about them is from the Hyosung salesperson.

For my final two cents worth, I think it’s a shame that we need to sit an additional test for an unrestricted license in WA and we don’t have LAMS. Then again, it’s been almost a year since I started looking at bikes so it may have been another five before I figured out which one I liked best if I had more options to choose from :roll:
  2. Welcome to Netrider!

I am sure you will find lots of opinions on bike here. Use the search function to find stuff - it's very handy.

Sorry I don't have an opinion on those bikes - soooo long since I rode 250's!

Can recommend the coffee nights - hopefully there is one near you!