Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie from Newcastle

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Olliefergo, Jul 25, 2011.

1. Hi guys I'm a new rider in Newcastle, ive been riding for about 3 months now and have a Kawasaki er-5. Would be keen if anyone knows of good roads locally to go for a ride, so far over mt sugarloaf and out to clarencetown and back

Cheers Ollie
  2. G'day Ollie, welcome to NR.
  3. G’day Ollie, pleased to see another local on NR!
    How was the ride over the mountain? I used to love tearing over it in my old car years ago, but haven’t had a chance to take the bike over (Only been riding a few weeks).
    Not sure how my bike will go - it’s only a 250 cruiser, so not a lot of grunt - especially with my fat arse weighing it down.
    Went for a run up John Renshaw Dve to Kurri yesterday. If you’re thinking of heading up that way, be careful near the Beresfield end - the pot holes are pretty bad around there at the moment.
    Apparently it’s a nice ride out to the wineries but I haven’t had a chance yet. Let us know if you find any nice spots :)
  4. Hiya Ollie!
    I just moved up to QLD from newcastle (but will be back down several times for a few weeks here and there yet :p).
    And yeah ninja, i lived out at cessnock so hmm... know all about JRD lol.

Sugarloaf is a nice run. If you turn left at that long right 45kph sweeper on the other side where the wire rope barrier is (toward mulbring), theres a real nice run around the back through there too - few nice corners etc for the next few kilometres - then you can double back the way you were going :p.