Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie from Darwin, NT

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by kate, May 1, 2016.

1. I am a newbie to the biking world, having done a few training courses over the past several months and I'm hooked! For me, the attraction is not just the insane thrill of riding, I also love learning about the technical aspects of riding too.

I am here because I want to start riding with good habits, a good attitude and to build skills and awareness to make me a risk-averse rider. I cannot believe the stupidity, ignorance and danger that I witness from some people on the road every day and I don't want to be an accident waiting to happen!

I also want to develop some more technical knowledge and skills which will help when I come to own and maintain a motorbike. I don't own my own bike yet, but I'm working on that!

I honestly have no idea of where to start, but I am keen to learn as much as I can and this place seems like a great way to tap into a wealth of knowledge and experience.
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Welcome to the forum and a lifetime of addiction to two wheels!

There's a ton of good information on here if you know where to look. Try looking in the new rider and riding tips section - there's a series of good threads (search noob 101) to get you started.

Best part is it's so much fun learning all this! Good luck
  3. Hi katekate, and welcome to NR. Sounds like you have a good head on your shoulders. Not forget to have fun in the process! I bet you are glad the wet is over. I hear it was a killer this year.
  4. G'day and welcome, KateKate. Any ideas about the sort of bike or type of riding (commuting, touring, etc.) you'd like to do?
  5. Welcome to NR from Adelaide.