Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbi(k)e and some stupid questions

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by cruzzzo, Oct 12, 2005.

1. Hi good people,

Yes, yet another newbie with a 250 :D

Here's my life-story, (disclaimer: it may be boring.)

I am an international student, living in QLD , going to uni in Brisbane. Having used public transport for several months and getting fed up of being controlled in all aspects of life by bus schedules, I decided to get a motorbike for commuting.
    1. I have a valid bike+car license (non-australian), which should be valid for my stay here in Australia.
    2. I am OK with bikes, infact I love'em. (rode a 750 back home)
    3. Free parking in the city!
    4. No more bus schedules

1. Dont know a biking soul in this country
    2. Dont know the ground rules

Anyways, as always the case I didnt worry about the cons and started bike-shopping going thru whats available in here. It was love at first sight with a honda vt250c, and I knew I had to get one.

OK, there was only one vt250c I could find in all of QLD. There were several available in VIC and SYD, but since I didnt know anything about interstate stuff just couldn't consider those. To cut a long story short, I bought this QLD vt250c for 5K. (it is a 1995 model)

Was that too much for a '95 vt250c , guys? Or did somebody get a great deal out of an old bike??
    (stupid question 1)

Bike is VGC though (see, at least I know the acronyms)

more stupid questions:

I heard that insuring is not compulsory for bikes, is that true? (it was compulsory in where I come from)