Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newb - Advice on Filtering

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by HeezaGeeza, May 2, 2011.

1. Hi All

First post as I've just made the switch from Vespa 250 GTS to an '08 CB600F Hornet, therefore I'm now allowed to post in forums such as this.

I've been riding the Vespa for about 2 years and outgrown it, hence the upgrade. During this time however I've been doing what I consider filtering on a daily basis without issue, but reading many of the threads on the subject here I'm a little confused.

Firstly, let me state I'm in NSW, so any advice should be based on the current RTA rules.

The way I understand it, right now there is still some ambiguity on the rr141(c) issue regarding overtaking a stationary vehicle on the left. My take is that the rules say you can do this if the traffic is stationary and you indicate prior and during the maneuver, but people have been booked for doing the same thing.

I've also read here that filtering in stop start traffic is illegal under the above rule, so it really only applies to traffic stopped at lights.

While I understand lane splitting is illegal (assume this is riding between two lanes of moving vehicles), I'm still confused on filtering - in particular the following situations:

1. On a single lane (each way) road, traffic in front stops at a red light. I'm 4 cars back. Do I have to pass on the left of the stationary traffic in order to comply with the regs as there is often little room on this side to pass?