Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New..well..everything

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by daiakuji, Sep 4, 2009.

1. Hi All

I randomly stumbled across these forums while looking up more info about obtaining a Riders License.

So just some small info and intro
    I'm hopefully grabbing my learner's permit from HART@St Ives on the 19/20th this month. I have no experience on a bike (asides from the ol' pedaller), so I'm excited but nervous at the same time.

Was keen on getting a 250R Ninja to tide me over til I get my full license and want to upgrade at first, but after reading the "Advice for beginners: get a POS", I'm beginning to have second thoughts. So I'm thinking about grabbing a 2nd (or more) hand 1997 CBR250RR.

Quick question, redbooks says that the bike's private price should be around $2,800 - $3,300, but it's priced at $5k. Is that a reasonable price?

I have a few cousins in Singapore that ride but unfortunately, they all had accidents and moved to "cagers" (I think that's the term coined lovingly around here).
    But still, I'd like to experience the ride and primarily just aiming to cruise around on the weekends. Maybe when I'm confident, I'll ride to work once in a while.

Just like to say thanks to everyone in the new riders forums because after lurking around, it's made me more aware.
    Hopefully would like to join the Sunday beginners riders club once I get my Ls!

-Leo

2. Welcome to Netrider, daiakuji !
    Best of luck in getting your L's and moreso with your bike 'hunt'.

Try sitting on a few and see which bikes feels right for you...unless, of course, you've already done this and happy with the CBR250RR.