Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New to sportsbikes, need help to improve my riding!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Gixasixa, Jul 18, 2008.

1. Ok, here is my story.

I have been riding bikes on and off for a few years now but prettymuch just exclusively for commuting on a shitty Cb250. A couple of weeks ago i got myself a new GSXR600 and absoloutly love it. Now for regular city riding i am copmpletley confident in my abilities and find the bike to be really easy to ride. My problem is i have started to take it on a few out of city rides and find i have no confidence in taking corners at any reasonable speed. My maine goal is to be able to go for a spirited ride on the weekend where i am well within my confidence and safetey limits but still having a bit of fun and be able to do regular track days and be able to keep up a decent speed on the track.
    I am thinking of doing the california superbike school at eastern creek and am hoping this will help alot. I also got myself a copy of 'A twist of the wrist' but found that to be more for people who are already confident road riders who are looking to refine there skills for racing.
    Anyone got any tips of know of some good literature i could use to help myself out?

2. Get used to moving around on the bike.
    Look to where you want to go.
    Keep within your limits.

Training is good :wink:
  3. You need to condition your brain.

City riding is an art and science in and of itself, and there's a few racers who'd struggle to get through town as quick or confidently as a seasoned commuter.