Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New to Road Bikes After some Advice.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Orb`, Oct 8, 2008.

1. Hey Guys,

I'm new to road bikes having only ever ridden farm bikes, albiet for some years. I"m not one to overestimate my skills, so i'm genuinley wanting to learn to ride properly on the road. What is the best way to go about that?
    I want to get a bike for the road so I can join a club and enjoy some weekend rides. I've done alot of reading, on this site and other, but i've not really found any threads or articles that deal with my situation. I have allocated about 15k for bike and gear, already have some good gortex wet's and plenty of gloves. What would you buy? what courses/ events would you go to to Really improve riding skills?

2. any riders course that can brush up your skills. If you already have a licensed.. doa refreshers then maybe an advanced course

15K is alot for a beginner bike. I wish i had 15k right now.
  3. Full license or restricted?
  4. +1
    Or a near-new 2008 model gsxr600 is only $13K at bikesales.com.au
    If your thinking to do weekend club rides, I think 600cc or 750cc should be suitable. Ive heard GSXR-600 (2006 onwards) is the easiest 600cc to handle.

My first ever roadcraft course was at HART(Honda Australia Riders Training) at St.Ives (Sydney). This was when I upgraded to 600cc from my GPX250(and after an off on that 600cc :LOL:).

This course is aimed at returning riders: HART
    and they have different levels to suit you.
    They have their own practice area which looks like a small circuit behind their centre.

Or Stay-Up-Right Course which are more road-oriented.