Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New to riding...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by MiningChick, Jul 14, 2007.

1. Hi All
    Im very new to learning to ride a bike, so far only 2 lessons but loving it so far (manage to stay upright in my first lesson which was held in a severe storm warning - gale force winds and torrential rain!!) :grin:

My question and not sure whether there is realistic answer ....but what time frame to expect to be having lessons before getting licence. I know that its different for everyone, but just as a general feel....how many hours can I look at for lessons. Cause I also work away for 2 weeks at a mine site, I can only book in lessons when Im home and then I want to try and cram in as many hours as I can.

My fear is being a rider similar to the Learner Drivers recently on TV, some taking 10years plus to get their licence?!?!?!? :shock:

Here in WA you can only ride with another licenced rider while on your L's, and then can only ride a 250cc for 12 months before unrestricted licence.

Also if anyone can suggest type of bike for a beginner...cause Im also looking to buy on my next break hopefully.

P.S This forum has been great reading and have learnt alot from all the different topics and posts. Thanks heaps! :grin:
  2. Hi miningchick....I done a 3 hour beginners in VIC, then a full day and got my l`s....3 years later (procrastinating) I went for my open licence...took 2 and a half day course and got it :)
  3. oh, and my very first bike is a Suzuki gs500 and an excellent bike
  4. The amount of hours required depend on the state for legality and your own comfort level for sensibility.

I know plenty of people who still dont feel comfortable but can legally ride.