Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New to Riding

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by LordRaaaaaawAlot, May 6, 2013.

1. Hi guys and girls i'm new to riding just brought my first bike but i have a few questions.
    1) i live in SA and i'm not sure the price on the ride safe course dose anyone know?

2) i have alot of family worried about me riding thinking ill be the stupid riders who ride in shirt shorts and thong, any tips on reassuring them ill be fine? i just spent 2500 on full riding gear

2. #2 NSSherlock, May 6, 2013
    Last edited: May 6, 2013

Put your gear on and wear it around them. Tell them you are trying to break it in since you'll be wearing it all the time.

For 1)
    Rider Safe motorcycle training courses
    Level one, basic
    Level two, advanced
    Rider Safe learner's permit (only issued for 24 months)
    from: http://www.sa.gov.au/subject/Transport, travel and motoring/Transport fees/Motoring fees/Driver's licence and permit fees

Also check out http://www.sa.gov.au/subject/Transport,+travel+and+motoring/Motoring/Motorcycling to get started.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Hi mate and welcome to the world of riding!!!

Ridersafe course is around $350 ish plus a fee at the rego place to get your L's.

Details on the course can be found in this thread, https://netrider.net.au/threads/ridersafe-s-a-course.138952/

I did the basic 6 months ago and advanced 2 weekends so both are fresh in my mind if you have any questions.

You can't really, except with time. My mum was freaking too and insisted I message he whenever I left to make sure I got home safely. She is getting better.