Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New to Netrider

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Andy L, Aug 3, 2015.

1. Hi there,
    I'm new to all this forum / blogging stuff , so here goes...
    I'm getting back into riding after 20+ years (mid life crises so my wife says =D). I recently bought a CB900F Hornet 06, pretty stoked with it, one owner & very low kms. I've done a couple of refresher courses with Qride (a Queensland rider training group) which has been awesome for getting my confidence back and getting back into the defensive riding zone and I actually have a better understanding of what the bike is doing & why. After being boxed up for so many years I've quickly realised how much you take for granted on whats going on around you. I can't recommend enough doing as many riding courses, defensive & track days, as you can.
    On a final note....
    I'd like some opinions on what jacket would be best suited for the Qld summer. I know leather is the best protection, but could be very hot. I've been looking at Roland Sands, Dianese R twin pelle or a Berik mesh leather combo. I am currently wearing a Dririder. The Roland Sands is the most comfortable & looks the coolest 8-|, but could be kinda warm. Any thoughts or other suggestions would be appreciated...
    OK, that's it for me for now, back into the working world :sour:

2. Hi Andy LAndy L and welcome back to riding! I'm not from Qld so I can't offer any advice on best jackets unfortunately. But welcome to NR. :)
  3. Welcome!

If it's city riding/speed IMO textile and mesh will keep you cool and safe. Rev'it! jacket's are good value and have decent armour.