Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New to hobby - VIC

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by luckyforteja, May 5, 2011.

1. Hi All,

I am new to hobby looking to get my motorbike license and a bike very soon. I used to ride when I was in India which was my only mode of transport. It was a little 150 CC Indianised Suzuki.

I used to ride about 50 km every day for about 5 years and have been to few long trips as well, but I haven't ridden for about 6 years except for about 2 weeks last year when I was in India again. I am not really sure where this leaves me. My instructor says that I should stright away go for my unrestricted license as I have an overseas licence. I need to speak to Vicroads and see what can be done. Not having restrictions is very tempting as I can get the bike that I like with no strings attached.

I have been doing a lot of research on what bike I'd like. I will be using it for commuting into CBD 5 days a week. I would still want to have the ablity to get into freeways and go for a long dirve on weekends.

I am 183 cm tall 95 KG and I amnot to keen on getting a 250 CC. I am looking at getting something that I don't have to upgrade in next 5 yrs.

I have to wait till my license gets sorted out to see what I can get. But as of now I do like

• Yamaha FZ6N
    • Kawasaki ER-6N
    • Kawasaki Z750 (Bit scared that it might be too powerful for me)
    I haven't taken any of these for a test ride yet. I will do that after I get my license sorted out, but they do look good.

The main purpose of this post is to say HELLO to all.

2. Welcome Sri. You'll find lots of good info here.