Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New To Australia

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by HurricaneHeather, Apr 25, 2015.

1. #1 HurricaneHeather, Apr 25, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 26, 2015
    Hi everyone!

The name is Heather, I moved to Sydney last year and just picked up my first bike in Australia a couple months ago.

I've been riding for 10 years, grew up drag racing, have done some road racing and worked as the bike tech at The Texas Mile back home in the US for the past 8 years.

I hold an embarrassingly specific world record as the fastest woman on a stock April RSV4 in a standing mile at 173.3 MPH (I told you it was specific). My best friend holds the record for the fastest person on that bike at 178 MPH. I like to maintain that his leathers weighed less than mine.

I've had a fairly wide range of bikes, but the one I have now is a 98 Honda Fireblade/ CBR250RR. They don't sell those in the US and I've always been an inline four fan, so thought it was the perfect bike. I've had some issues with her, so a bit frustrated but other than that, she's a great bike. Heaps of fun to ride.

Hope to get to meet a few folks in the area and it seems like y'all post rides, so once my bike is firing on all 4 cylinders again, I'll make it a point to join up (if I can keep up ;)).

I'm not sure how to insert a picture, so I'm gonna figure that out and get back to ya on that.

• Like Like x 3
  2. Welcome to Aus, and Netrider.
    Congrats on the record - when did you earn that?
  3. Welcome.

Nice bikes those CBR's. My second road bike was a '89 model, loads of fun.
  4. Wow HurricaneHeatherHurricaneHeather! That's even faster in km/h! How on earth did you stay on?

OldmaidOldmaid, I think we have a better test pilot for your wheels...