Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New riders need to be patient

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by rcdarkangel, May 30, 2007.

1. Hi,

I suppose that first I should provide a little bit of background before I go into my long winded rant.

I have been riding for many years off road using dirt bikes and ag bikes. I have had my fair share of spills and pretty bad accidents.

I have recently completed both my pre learner L's test and also completed the knowledge test. I am a competent smart and safe rider.

However I am very, very stupid when it came to actually purchasing a bike and my own impatience was my downfall.

I work in a job where I am well off so I decided to take a loan out for a bike before I even had my licsense. I ended up not having enough after buying gear and a few others things and I started freaking out getting impatient and wanting to ride so I rushed out and purchased the first thing I could that was cheap.

I ended up purchasing a ZZR-250 "95" model for 2800 dollars. Now my first mistake was trusting both the seller and the sellers add. The add said that the bike had some small cosmetic damage and the pictures showed this to be true.

Now due to my impaitence to be riding again I forgave this and did not get the bike looked at, rather I paid him the cash and I had him ride it to my location.

HEAVY damage to all fairings and they were loosely hanging from the bike, oil leaks, worn tires, no pink slip as stated, blinkers that did not always work. Now even after all of this I had still considered that I had gotten a bargain so I thought that I could live with it.