Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New Rider

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by No78ad, Nov 21, 2015.

1. Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to riding... so new that I am just about to purchase my first bike. I'm looking at the newest Kawasaki Ninja 300ABS.

Any tips on purchasing? I'm just on my Learners and im abit confused on whether or not i should buy second hand or brand new.

2. Welcome to NR Chris,
    I'm also a new rider and bought first bike couple weeks ago.

Obviously, second hand can find cheaper price (best to get bike checked by mechanic prior to buying if don't know what to look for), new should get warranty (maybe roadside assist). Bargaining always good idea. Check what dealer is giving you in ORC if buying new, I.e. delivery charges, 6 mth or 1 yr rego etc. can get bike registered as single seated to save some cost. Also dealer can often give good deal on safety gear when buying - good idea if have none. Can get them deliver your home also.

Anyway, good luck with your purchase - is a fun time
  3. Hi Chris and welcome.

The wee Kwaka Ninja 300 is a really nice bike.

But, as a beginner, you have to consider at least the possibilities of you allowing it to lie down for a rest.

This is fairly significant in terms of value of a brand new bike, especially one with so much in the way of fairing.

BTW, the Ninja is one of the harder bikes for doing your MOST on.

I guess a lot depends on your financial circumstances, but I'd honestly have to suggest you might look at a simpler, naked, and second hand LAMS bike.

Have you done your pre-learners yet? If so, what were you put on for it?

Hints as to your size/weight and your intended use could allow for more constructive comments.
    • Agree Agree x 1