Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New rider skills plateau & complacency

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by XJ6N, Aug 22, 2015.

1. I like reading through OldmaidOldmaid's excellent What did you learn from your most recent ride? thread. We're all learning this and that no matter how long we've been riding. It won't be long until I've been riding for one year. Like a lot of Netriders I learnt to ride off-road in my teens - I first learned on an agricultural motorcycle on a farm - and became a licenced rider much later with fifteen years in-between where I didn't so much as sit on a motorcycle.

When I started riding again it was almost as if I hadn't had that fifteen-year hiatus. I often find that I can quickly get a rudimentary grasp of the basics of an activity - riding included - and it is later when I become aware of a plateau in my skill level that things become much, much harder. It's a different experience for everyone.

While this is normal - I can't expect to continue to acquire new skill levels at the same rate as a complete beginner - as a novice it can be difficult to find the best approach to continuing improvement. Resultant complacency is probably the major potential problem I face in an activity where often the best outcome of a crash is major pain, incapacitation, police charges and or financial loss (as opposed to the alternative).

My approach is to remind myself to ride within my skills and the conditions, seek out further rider training and to attempt to stay aware of everything I'm doing when on the bike. Putting more two-wheel kilometres behind me doesn't hurt either. Talking to experienced and demonstrably safe riders about specific situations has helped too.