Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New Rider SA

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Named, Sep 23, 2016.

1. Greetings all,

I'm a novice rider in the (very) northern suburbs of Adelaide. I'll be on my Learner's until I book the next Rider Safe course (a one day assessment for those not familiar).
    I'd be capable of passing now but i'm still in the habit of finding a nice quiet car park to practice slow speed maneouvring, braking and counter-steering. That seems slightly less ridiculous when you've got L plates on...

I bought a 2016 Yamaha MT-03, with an Akrapovic full exhaust and oggy knobs installed by the dealer [all covered under original 2 year warranty that way ;) ].

My ride is for commuting, learning to ride and basic maintenance, so I'm not changing too much on it. But I will get a tail tidy to be rid of all the unnecessary ugly plastic at the back and I really need to change the stock mirrors (they show 50-60% my shoulders/elbows no matter how I position them). I'll probably get some CRG Lanesplitter barend mirrors with barend mounts from Rhino Parts to solve that problem.

If you're in the north of Adelaide and see an MT-03 weaving around cones in a carpark somewhere, come over to say hello :)
    • Like Like x 3
  2. welcome aboard :)

Congrats on the bike :) bet it sounds awesome :)
  3. Welcome.

I can't speak for the others on here, but I've been riding road bikes for 20 years and I will still occasionally find an empty car park and practice slow speed riding etc. I used to do it more when I went to bike rallies - there's prizes like beer, whisky or rum to be had if you win the slow race........
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Welcome to the forum mate
  5. Hi there
    I'm from SA (Newton) and new around here as well.