Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New Rider from NSW

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by ekkw86, Aug 26, 2011.

1. Hello all,

I am new to motorcycles and got my learner license last week. I will be picking up my bike later today from the dealer. Just thought I would say hello and introduce myself to the community.

If you are wondering what bike I got, I bought the new Honda CBR250R in sexy black. I can't wait to have a ride later today. I also had a couple of quick questions. I was reading on the site about group rides and the sydney learner sessions which I would be interested in attending. My question is:

1. How much practice on my own should I do before I attend one of the learner sessions in Homebush?
    2. How experienced should I be before I attend my first group ride?

Thanks for reading my post! :)

2. Hi Eddie, welcome!

I'm just a newbie too (6 weeks on the bike) and am off to my first Homebush session this Sunday. I would have been there sooner but have been away most weekends lately, or the weather has been crap. I've been riding to work when it's fine and getting used to the bike. I've done a little slow speed practice right after I bought it. Wiser heads may say different, but I reckon get to the learner session sooner rather than later - better to have bad technique corrected before it becomes bad habit.
  3. the trick right at the moment is for you to be with people who can watch what you are doing and provide you with the benefit of the experience you don't yet have

my advice is to get out to Homebush and meet goz and ozyoda and the gang, listen up and practice hard (y)