Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New rider from inner-west (Sydney)

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by CrayolaS7, Mar 27, 2011.

1. Hi, last weekend I bought my first bike, a '99 Honda VTR250.

I share a car with my dad and I've been driving a lot for work recently, and maintenance/petrol was getting way too costly. I'd always wanted to get a bike but hadn't been allowed when I was younger. I've been driving for 5 years now without any accidents or tickets and so convinced dad that I would be much better prepared for riding.

I went and did the pre-Ls course about a month ago and then after saving a bit more cash (read: staying at home all the time instead of spending money), I started looking for a bike. After looking at a few VTRs and GS500s I found one I liked at a good price, and so bought it.

One of my mates who has been riding for a few years now came with me to pick it up last Wednesday after work so I wouldn't have to negotiate busy Sydney traffic the first time riding on the road. He also lent me his summer jacket and I already had got a helmet and some full length gloves.

I spent thursday riding around the quiet streets near my place, and to the petrol station. On friday during the middle of the day, I rode out to Parramatta to get a proper motorcycle jacket. That was my longest trip so far but this week I will start doing my commute on the bike if it's not raining. At the moment I have just been wearing steel-toe boots and normal jeans, but will get some proper ones this week.