Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

new rider comtemplating on which bike to get

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by graemepa, Jun 13, 2006.

1. hey guys,

I recently just got my L's through Heart in Melbs about 1 month ago and since then hace been actively researching what type of bike I should buy.

Ive read through most of the guides in these forums and have found them extremely helpful in helping me make a better choice.

Im 21 and about 6 foot and weigh about 90kg. My budget is pretty low as im a struggling uni student and am aiming to spend around 3K on a bike. Easy maitaneance, reliability and a smooth ride are really my priority in choosing my first bike. As a result im seriously considering a CB250 to putt around on.

Ill mainly be commuting to uni everyday which is only about 10km away from where i live and i want to occasionally go for a bigger ride on the w/ends. I really like the look of the VTR250 but the bike is seriously out of my price range :(. What do you guys think? CB250 sounds like the bike for me? or any other suggestions?

Thanks for your help guys this forum seems like a great little community for all things bike and I hope to spend alotta time here.
  2. if you like the VTR, try looking for SPADA models (earlier version, same engine, diff frame). Older + cheaper and engines are bullet proof :)
  3. Hey another Ballarat rider :). Yeah you're unlikely to find a VTR for 3K, but you may be able to track down a Spada in good condition for that sort of money, same engine but with an alloy frame though all are around 15 years old now. CBs are certainly a good, reliable bike - there's just the problem that you may get bored with one very quickly.