Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New Rider Can't Get The Bloody Thing To Go i.e. please help!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by IgnisDraconis, Jun 2, 2008.

1. G'day all,

I'm a rider of 751.4 kms on a Ninja 250r and recently encoutered a big problem - my bike, quite randomly and for the first time, won't start.

It's still being worn in, I've treated it well and it ran ok yesterday. Am I doing something wrong:

1 key in and turn
    2 kill switch to on
    3 choke on
    4 in neutral

5 turn ignition on and let idle for a few mins whilst getting geared up

6 hop on
    7 stand up
    8 clutch in
    9 into first gear - which is where it just cut out.

I'm a complete noob and dunno whats going on. Any advice (not too technical) would be very very appreciated. Thanks to anyone who could suggest a cause, solution ... anything :)
  2. sounds like there may be a problem with the switch that stops the bike being in gear with the stand down.

just make sure the stand is completley up.

if it is. take it back under wty its mostlikley this switch.
  3. I had the same on a loan CBF250 that I have last week, very weird. It might be something to do with some safety cutout, check the stand is really all the way up. I know my KLE will cut the engine if you put the stand down while it is in gear even with the clutch in.
  4. Hmmm, I'm 90% sure cause i tried 7 or 8 times! But... I might try after dinner unless any more suggestions flow in. Thanks for the tip but we'll have to see
  5. Have you missed choke off?

Once warmed up my bike stalls if the choke is on and i'm idling
  6. yeah, doing that too :( I just can't get it, its all been sweet till now - I've intentionally dumbed it down to go thru every step purposefully too