Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New Older Rider - Melbourne

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by jatznotsavoy, Aug 23, 2012.

1. Hi There, I am new to riding, having just passed my L's recently, at the age of 40. Was surprised to see that at least half the class at my L's were also of the older bent, all with their reasons for wanting to join the ranks of the enlightened. Some were going on trips to Bali, and wanted to at least know how to ride before taking on that storm, others had been paddock bashing in their youth (like me), and had always lacked the time/money/willpower to go and get that bike for the road.

A month ago I got my first, a bright yellow dinky Hyosung GT250. Have been out and about in the traffic of Melbourne on the odd occasion, and am really looking forward to the longer rides out in the country.

Are there any other late starters out there, interested in taking on the Sunday learner rides?
  2. Average age of people getting their Ls in Victoria is 34 or so I've been told - so you're not alone!!

Welcome, and make sure you get yourself down to the Saturday learner skills sessions if you can.
  3. Welcome, niot sure if ou are allowed to call 40 old, makes me look decidedly ancient. Enjoy your new found freedom, I sure am.
  4. Welcome mate, I will be 40 soon to, the great thing is there are all age groups that are part of this forum. Like someone said get down to the Saturday morning practice well worth it.
  5. Same here... Not 40 yet but will be there soon! Did a lot of riding overseas and then moved to Australia and did not ride for 12-13 years (Would ride whenever I went back) and then last year - finally bit the bullet, did my L's and got a bike.

ONLY Regret - should have done it sooner. :)