Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

new/newish bike suggestions

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by sparkie87, Jul 18, 2011.

1. Hello everyone

I am new to the road bike scene as i have been riding a variety of dirtbikes since i was 16,
    I am now 23 got my full unrestricted licence and am trying to do some research on what is a good suggestion.
    I like the look of the aggressive sportbikes and every dealer out there wants to sell whatever they can to whoever so I don't trust them as much when they say "yeah you'll be fine".

My budget is about 15k for bike, insurance, protective clothing looking at a full set of good leathers as i have only dirt gear, obviously the older and more K's on the bike the less i want to spend.

My height is about 180cm, weight about 70kgs with normal clothing.

The riding I want to do is mainly after work going for a blast, or weekend twistys and that sort hopefully a few ride days with a bunch of netriders, I am not looking to go to/from work with it.

The bikes I have ridden are cr125, cr250 (mainly), mates yz450, wr450, wr426 and i can ride confidently for 6+ hr enduros without too many problems.

Whats everyones suggestions?

thanks Nathan

2. either a 600cc or 1000cc sports bike.

Which one depends on what you think when you've ridden them.

3. Yeah, what b12mick said. I'm a similar height/weight and have a 600 and it's plenty for me. Although I was swayed heavily when deciding as there are also some cracking nakeds out there eg Street/Speed Triples which will do all and above what you mentioned you want from a bike.

4. Considering you've ridden a WR450 you'll be used to something strong (I love these Yammies!)