Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

new member, new bike, still learning

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by shane2493, Apr 7, 2006.

1. hey
    just got a my first official bike, yamaha xtx660. i've done some riding before, but only dirt bikes on farms and shit like that so i dont have any real traffic riding experience.

and also, its pretty lame being 19 and all and never havng my car licence, so naturally enough im still learning how to operate the clutch/gears properly.

getting off the mark, accelerating is no prob, its just the constant slowing down for traffic, picking the right gear to be in to take off again.

im sorta regretting buying this bike. i love it, its just that it doesnt have the speedodial, its digital... so i cant see the revs or anything. which is pretty screwed up since ive never really drove a car before either.

any tips on just how to know what gear to be in to take off, and creep(?) forward in slow traffic.

2. Welcome Shane to a great community
  3. Welcome Shane, :grin: As my alias suggests, i,ll play the bad guy,,,