Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New member looking for advice (BMW R1200 GS Adventure)

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by Mark Farr, Apr 14, 2015.

1. Hi guys,

I have been riding for more than 20 years, commuting to work (don't even have a car license) daily, but have been without a ride for the past year, since moving to Australia. I couldn't justify the expense of a bike, until now.

I want to get a new R 1200 GS Adventure, the bike I had last. I am living and working in and around Sydney. Can you advise as to a good dealership from which to procure the bike? I have contacted one (Fraser) twice but they never get back to me. I had a stranger in a store overhear me and he recommended a dealership in Newcastle - I looked for one and assume he meant Brisans. He said it's worth going that far because their service is good.

Any and all advice will be appreciated.

2. Welcome. Frasers lost the BMW concession a while ago (if you mean the concord branch ).
    Procycles Hornsby are ok for sales but don't get anything serviced there.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Have you checked on BikeSales? You may find a dealer outside of Sydney that has better price/options/etc? Plus you get a cool adventure ride back to Sydney from wherever...

4. As chillibutton advised, don't limit yourself on Sydney based dealers. A friend (with too much money) was in Melbourne and finished up purchasing from Southbank Motorcycles, and they arranged delivery in Sydney for him. He got a better deal and is still very happy with the arrangement.

5. Welcome to the lucky country, unfortunately I cant help you out with that query, but if you pop up to the Gold Coast I'm sure our BM dealer will be able to assist