Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New member from Sydney

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by EddieJL, Aug 2, 2014.

1. Hey everyone

I'm a new netrider member from Sydney. I've recently booked myself in for the Rider Training Session and if all goes well, I'll be another addition to the riding community.

I've never ridden a motorbike before so hopefully I enjoy my experience on a bike during the training session so I can go ahead with buying a bike.

I'm a student living at home so another obstacle would be the parents.. have not told them that I've booked myself in for the training course :-O

That's going to be a fun conversation with them...

2. Welcome.
    Do what you want to do, not what others tell you to do.

Riding is fun, those who don't experience it are missing out.

Your parents will get over it,, mine did.
  3. Haha thanks mate, that also comes into play seeing as I'm looking at getting a 125cc.. who cares what others think right? I live in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney so anything faster won't get me anywhere I go any quicker.

Ahh, I forgot to mention that I'm Asian and Asian parents are.. Asian. We'll see how the session goes first though.

Just wondering, is there anyone on netrider that could possibly help with inspecting a motorbike? Seeing as I know nothing about bikes, it'd be hard for me to have a good idea of what to check.. and I don't trust myself to test ride a bike on my L's.

I did a quick google search and saw a couple of businesses that do inspections but $200+ for an inspection on a $3-4k bike is quite steep.. as a student I'm a bit on the tight side.