Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New member from Melbourne

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by iamthejoker, Aug 13, 2014.

1. Hi there

I'm new to the world of motorcycling and having a look through these forums over the last few days convinced me to join up. I figure the best way for me to get involved would be to explain how I got here. Be warned, not all of it directly relates to motorcycles.

[TL/DR]

When I was around twelve years old I had a math assignment in which I had to find a way to spend $5 million. In researching for that project I picked up a copy of Wheels magazine. Within that fateful magazine was a short, quarter page article on the then just released Lamborghini Murcialago Roadster. I had no idea what anything in that article meant. Power was just an abstract term to me. I'd never even heard of torque before and the top speed and 0-100 figures were meaningless as I had nothing to compare them to. But looking at the pictures I knew it was something special. I'd never seen anything that looked as fast as that. Long story short, I was in love.