Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New member, FNQ

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by WKD60, Jul 13, 2013.

1. Hi All,

Been stalking the site for a few months now, thought it about time I should introduce myself.

My name's Mark, and I'm a noob. I've had by Learner's since 09, but never threw my leg over a bike in all that time until I finally bit the bullet and got myself on a Q-Ride course with Jay at NQ Ride back in May.

Having never ridden before... It was a steep learning curve. Well, steeper than the other people on the course with me who had ridden before. Thanks to Jay, I had no dramas, and after completing the 2 day course, the very next day I went to my local Suzuki dealer to enquire about a LAMS SV650S.
    Well, without going into too much detail, I test rode a second hand SFV650. Rode it home, then back to the dealer... And after some number crunching, it became mine.

2 and a bit months later, I'm loving the motorcycling lifestyle. Thoroughly enjoying the Gladius. Has saved me from insanity driving around in a Hyundai Getz, having owned 800HP XR6Ts and WRXs in the past.

It's my work commuter, and weekend plaything. Easy to ride, heaps of torque from the V-Twin makes it a doddle. Very comfortable riding position (Did have to modify the seat however). And sounds great.

When I picked it up:

So, to make it mine it needs mods right?
    -Already had adjustable levers, saweeet.
    -First thing I did was to purchase some bar end mirrors, as the standard ones were terrible. Big ugly chrome things look like shit, and more importantly I could not see a thing behind me. New mirrors fixed that a treat.
    -Then picked up a paddock stand off a mate, and got some spindles off ebay. Make maintenance much easier.