Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New member - Advice on insurance

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by Dirty Dog, Sep 12, 2005.

1. Hi Boys and Girls

I am brand new to the site and am wanting some much needed advice on insurance...

I am 23 Male in Qld, This comming weekend im going for for open bike licence through Q-Ride and was hoping to start bike shopping as soon as the licence was ofically sorted.

I was wanting to look at getting at most a 600 or there abouts BUT.......

Problem being is im getting some big insurance quotes back ! Is this because of my age or is all bike insurance expensive ? I have been driving for 6 years with a very clean record and no insurance claims.

3rd party property is cheap as chips but full comprehensive is a killer !

Thanks for any and all advice you may have.

Cheers
    Michael

2. Comp isurance is always expensive for bikes because it covers theft. Anything that can be picked up and put on a ute is considered easy to steal and the value makes them desirable to steal so up go he premiums. If you choose a sports bike it will be higher due to the desirability to thieves and the crash risk associated with the extra power.

The choice is yours when it comes to deciding. I have 3rd party but my bikes only worth 3k. If it were worth 10k it'd be a different story.

Welcome to the forum :)

3. Welcome to the forums Dirty Dog!

The clincher is your age. Your under 25, that would be why your premiums are huge, also because you would be looking at insuring a 600cc bike. Smaller capacity may be cheaper. Also if you are not a rating one cage driver it would also effect your quote. Ring around is my advice, but my guess is you'll be paying through the nose. Good luck!