Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New Melbourne Learner

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by RockRiffRoger, Jul 29, 2015.

1. Hi all,

Long time pillion passenger getting ready to move into the rider's seat in a couple of weeks.

I'm booked in to do the Learner's course with HART in Tullamarine. Very much looking forward to it.

In addition to being a newb on the bike, I'm a bit of a newb in the forums world too. Am hoping that I can dig up some good info here on getting started. The site looks good so far.

On the bike front, I've been looking at the Ninja 300 and GT250R on the sports side, and the VTR250 on the naked side. I prefer the look of the faired bikes, but have heard that I'm likely to drop it and be up for some expensive repairs during the first few months.

I'm hoping the bike will become my daily commute (from northern suburbs to South Melbourne), but I also want to have some fun with it on weekends.

Any advice is much appreciated!

Cheers,
    RRR.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Howdy & Welcome to NR!

3. Hi RRR, you'll see I'm brand new to biking too, haven't even got a bike yet, doing my L's this weekend. Your post made me realise, I'm looking forward to traveling into the city, for the first time for years! On a bike it should be so much more 'exciting', hopefully for all the right reasons. I'm 47, should have done this decades ago...