Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New learner looking for a bike

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by ~eM~, May 11, 2009.

1. Hey guys,

I am new to the world of two wheels and currently, looking to get my hands on a bike.

What I'm looking at are pretty simple and i guess many other people do look for the same things
    1) Cheap
    2) Reliable
    3) Sports bike
    4) LAM (obviously)

After looking around websites, several other forums I finally have a basic idea on what sort of bike I am intersted in they are as below
    kawa ninja 250
    cbr250rr or single r

As nice as the new ninjas are, as a brand new learner rider.. i really done see myself spending 7k on a new bike and get real upset when i drop it.

So it goes to cbr250rr. Some mates of mine said they are really reliable, but some forums have highlighted that they are problematic since they have been around since the 90s.
    Then having a look on bikesale, prices of around 5-7k for a 1990 cbr250rr, i end up asking myself why dont i get a brand new ninja?
    Obviously, there are good deals out there... but this was what I thought in general.

A mate of mine have a 87-88 cbr250r, which he might look to sell for 3k. With little knowledge on values of bikes, and whether or not they are problematic mechanically.. i do not know if he is trying to rip me off or what? (not to mention, its been dropped cracked and scratched... and hes bought it around 5 years ago for 3.5-4k)
    He also had problems with starting the bike on cold winter days and require a push start
    He did say however, that if I do not buy it off him, he would look to trade it in at the dealers.

So what can you guys suggest?