Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

new international member

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by ldebackker, Sep 6, 2009.

1. Hi there,

I am a new member so I will introduce myself here. My name is Lars, I am 22 years old, and I live in Melbourne at the moment.
    However, this is just my home for a short period of 5 months since I am an exchange student studying at RMIT University. After this semester I will return back to Holland where I come from.

My bike is a 1991 Kawasaki GPX600R, which I bought 1.5 years ago, just before getting my license. Off course, this bike is in some kind of winter sleep right now, because I am far far away from it.

The reason I registered myself is that I'd like to rent a bike here and do a nice weekend tour. I don't know anyone here who rides so through this forum I want to get in contact with some people who would like to join me.

That's about it, I'll make a new topic for my touring plans.
  2. Hi Lars and welcome to Netrider. I am from Melbourne though currently work/reside overseas, away from my bike...I know the feeling very well of not being able to ride your bike.
    But hiring one, especially with Melbourne's gorgeous warmer weather on our doorsteps, is a great plan and I'm sure you'll have lots here on the Forums interested in joining you for rides.
    I find riding and drinking are identical : One never needs an excuse for a drink ! :)
    PS - What are you studying at RMIT ? I was a student there, once upon a time :beer:
  3. I am studying some aviation courses at the city campus. It's all pretty easy but also interesting so that's good. Time enough to do some weekend trips.
  4. Hi Lars and welcome to Australia, Melbourne and NetRider.