Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

new guy in adelaide

Discussion in 'Scooters' started by kyle_13, May 13, 2008.

1. hi all, i am new to the scooter scence....well i haven't actually got one yet but i have a couple in mind but i wanted some of your opinions.

i have read through most of the scooters topics and its good to see so many people who know what they are tlaking about.

Well basically i am going to just myself a 50cc scooter cos i am really sick of paying high fuel prices. but i dont want to go and get a motorcycle licence just yet as that is quite pricey. All i need to do is travel 10km to work and 10km back and maybe the odd occasional ride a mates house in gawler (20km)

so besides me rambling i was looking a second hand

Red Devil Scooter
    Bolwell Jolie

and if i can get around to afford it a Bolwell Shark Scooter

but most likely one of the other two.

So basically has anyone got one and could i get some pros and cons on them.

Thanks and i look forward to chattin to you guys

Kyle :grin:
  2. hi kyle...

ive got a red devil but ive ridden the jolie... stay away from the jolie - they are the cheapest model and tiny to boot - the devil has much larger wheels and rides ALOT better on the road...the jolie feels like it has pizza cutters for tyres you feel everything
  3. I would fear riding out to gawler on a 50cc scooter.
    What's the max speed on those things, like 65kph?
  4. yeah about 65km/h but i know all the back ways there so it wouldn't bother me to much but i would mainly be using to get from work and back and then the possblie trip to my girls house.

I have thought about going for the bike licence but i have heard it is quite expensive. Does anyone know how much it cost to get a licence and how much ridersafe is?