Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New girl in Melb & no idea where to ride!

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' at netrider.net.au started by mudbunny, Feb 13, 2009.

1. Hi guys,
    I'm just new to Melbourne and I'm looking forward to running in my new baby this weekend but I'm really not sure where to go!
    Just wondering if anyone has any recommendations?

I'm coming from the Williamstown area. :)
    And I'll be taking my boss so somwhere to stop along the way for lunch would be tops :)
    Thanks again.
    mb

2. Welcome Mudbunny.

Pretty much all the areas to the north and East that we usually ride got burnt to the ground last weekend. :cry:

Head down to the west coast past Geelong and along the Great Ocean Road and Otways maybe?
    Some parts of the Dandenongs should still be safe, too.

:)

3. Might I suggest Mt Macedon, and then in to Woodend for lunch at Holgates.

Plenty of options to head up that way, and I have always had a damn good feed there. Mt macedon is a great bit of road, if short, just watch the hairpin going down the north side.

Google maps

I do not think it would take the 2 hours suggested by google, but you can reduce it a bit by using the freeway near Diggers rest closer to Mt Macedon.

4. I love these threads.

All the sad sweaty obese socially inept riders will offer to take you for a ride. This thread will go for thirty pages or something.

Anyway, I'm going on the GOR this weekend. Come along.

5. LMAO
    So am I, I hope you wear some good deoderant!