Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New fish in Melbourne

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by drizzle, Aug 14, 2015.

1. I'm new to Melbourne, arriving in May. Rushed to sort out my license transfer from WA, only to run into some sweet, sweet bureaucracy, that I managed to get sorted out after a week of follow-up phone calls between DPI (WA) and VicRoads (VIC, obviously).

Now the proud owner of my first Melbourne bike and my first supermoto, an '09 Suzuki DRZ400-SM.

Been babying her around the streets due to fresh rubber and still not knowing my way around (and hearing way too many stories about tram track stacks).

I'm 29 and currently working in IT in the Melbourne CBD, but looking for a sea change - in the meantime, I'm over in the Brunswick area if anyone's keen to show me around and have some fun.

I'm a bit of a geek, but more in the sci-fi way than computers, but I love live punk, hardcore and metal and look pretty far from your stereotypical IT worker. Got a thing for scuba diving and the water (although why I moved to Melbourne beats the hell out of me), so I'm always trying to think of ways to go overseas for adventure trips.

Cheers all, hope to see you on the twisties!

2. Howdy & Welcome to NR! Geeks come in all flavors :p Just like bikes and their riders!

3. Welcome Drizzle, If you get down to Saturday morning practice in Elwood/St Kilda one of the members Uncle GregUncle Greg generally starts a ride from there around 11 or 12. Thats a good way of getting to know some of the local ride twisty routes. There is often a Sunday ride as well but that's a bit more hit and miss so check the thread to make sure someone is running one that week.