Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New Deaf Rider

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by mpgraphics, Aug 23, 2011.

1. I am new at this and I recently purchased Yamaha FXZ250 Zeal and I have a fuel leaking after switched RES to ON. The bike wont continue ride after I tried to change to second gear or put the clutch on. Any ideas?

2. Welcome.

It looks like you have at least three problems.

Where is the fuel leaking from? Is there a vacuum line to the tap?

Most "modern" bikes have a vacuum operated tap. This means they shouldn't leak when you turn the tap to "on". If it is leaking and it is a vacuum tap, then the tap needs to be pulled apart and examined. It may only need a clean.

Even if the tap isn't sealing you still shouldn't leak fuel. The float needles in the carbies should seal. that is if the leak is after the carbies. This means the carbies need attention.

With regard the running in gear, I'd be looking at clutch, neutral and side stand interlocks.
  3. Hey mate, are you profoundly deaf or partially?

My sister has been riding for a few years now and she's profoundly deaf with two cochlear implants.
  4. My mate Sid in Brissy years ago was deaf from birth, Rode an 860 Norton, only way he cornered was by feel, scared the crap out of me, he sc****d the bike on every corner, hard,
  5. sc****with a D Is a bad word
  6. it's rape that the censoring system blocks
  7. ibast: Thanks for reply.. Not sure if my bike is 'modern', its '99.. I will check the tap as I couldn't see it last night.

QuarterWit: I am profoundly deaf :)

If my bike continue having problem with leaking/tap/carbies/idle.. Is there any good bike service in Melbourne?
  8. Hi mpgraphics, welcome to NR.