Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New Cans for VTR1000F '06

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by Custard, May 2, 2007.

1. Yo fellow netriders,

I originally posted this in Tech Torque, but I think it's prolly better here eh... mods feel free to kill the other one

I have recently aquired a black '06 Firestorm which is desperately in need of a set of cans. I'm relatively new to the whole mods for road bike thing, so any advise would be greatly appreciated. I need:

Street legal
    Deep tone - low, nice and growly, not too woofy, but not psycho loud either (I've heard carbon fibre is the go)
    Not too fussed if they are chrome or darker colour (carbon) - am warming to the dark ones tho..
    No mods to pegs as I regularly go 2 up
    Something which doesn't require radical carby mods - minor is ok (and info on rejetting if required)

So what have people got?? what do you like??

Also while I'm here, do any of you VTR people have bar risers (I've heard of kits with 16mm risers which don't require mods to brakes and clutch etc). How much are they??

2. I just did a shit load of research for my bike (although its not a VTR but it is a V Twin) and have ordered a set of Leovince titanium high mount pipes, I ordered them direct from the U.S. and they will be here Friday, 5 days for delivery and even with delivery it worked out around $400.00 or $500.00 cheaper than I could get them for locally and it was gonna take around two weeks for the bike shop to get them in, bloody stupid but thats how it is. Oh and the VTR is a Super Hawk in the U.S. I think
  3. Lookin forward to hearin and seein those Kev :grin:
  4. Yes me to, the standard pipes do sound rather gay