Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

new bike- vfr or 800st

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by rich, Sep 6, 2011.

1. Ok, I know this is the most boring question there is but hey, everyone seems to answer them. I've been riding my VTR250 for 5 years and although I'll defend it to anyone with a big bore fetish, its time to move on. (im keeping it because its just sweet for tolling round town) The choice is the BMW 800st or a vfr 800. I dont want to get into vtec discussions- or bagging the beamer contests. They both suit my riding which is
    a-short commute up the highway
    b-long commute to alexandra over the spur
    c-weekend trips up the great ocean road.

I do all of the above every fortnight and have a girlfriend to put on the back, so tourers are the go, but i don't want to go over 800cc as I'm a fairly leisurely rider with only the occasional need for speed and a greater need for my license and my skin.
    Let me know what you think and keep it nice, last time I posted a whole heap of guys who signed up in the last year started flaming me for no reason and I'm on here because I respect the community. not for randoms to bag me out.

2. Are you thinking of getting a new one or a second hand (or as they say pre-loved these days)?

3. I considered both, with pretty much the same intentions. Get on and ride them. I ended up with the triumph sprint st (at the time I did not know triumph made a decent sport tourer), its just such a shame that triumph have decided to discontinue with this model.