Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New bike tale of woe

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by spenze, May 13, 2010.

1. Sorry, this ended up much longer than I anticipated.

My new (for me) GS500 was ready to be picked up this morning. I was rather excited about the whole thing but was a little worried I would leave my gear at home by mistake. Seen as I have been carting a laptop to and from work for several years that part of my day was second nature... picking up a helmet, jacket etc was not.

When I got to work I showed my colleagues the gear we all thought I was going to forget. But, ummm, I did manage to leave my laptop at home.

Slight change in plans, I decided to go straight to SpotOn Motorcycles and pick up my GS500 and take it home, while the freeways were empty (for the direction I was going anyway).

Had a few issues getting the bike home however. When I was sitting on bikes trying them out, I was wearing tennis shoes / sneakers / or work shoes. Managed to manipulate the read brake and gear lever without problem. But now I was wearing my motorcycle boots and I found I could hardly get my foot between the foot peg and the gear lever.

On the way home, the heavens opened up and dumped a load of water on the roads... and me.

Still, I had my bike and I got it home without incident. Feeling rather proud of myself at this point. Had a lot of trouble "working" from home as I had a new toy in the garage just waiting to be played with... so I did.

Rode around the local streets familiarising myself with the clutch, throttle, gears and brakes. I figured after my third outing I had it more or less under control. (I was attempting to work between outings)