Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New bike ride in period

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by thewolf, Apr 5, 2010.

1. OK, total newbie here, which is of course why I have bought a new bike and plan to NEVER drop it. :):):)

Anyway, what should one out for when one rides in a new bike? I guess someone may tell me something at some point, Not so much the regulars routines, but what should one be doing extra (or not doing as the case may be)

In addition I suspect this bike is NOT going to be used a great deal (newbie in winter rain in Melbourne, I'm vowing to practice in the rain, but that doesn't mean I'm going to go on long rides in it, hate to say, that's what cars are for), anyway I digress, the bike is unlikely to get really long K's so may well have a prolonged breaking in period, so anything extra there as well.

The (Curious) Wolf

PS. Posting as i don't have the bike yet, when I have the bike I doubt I will be posting here :p

2. Your dealer, and more to the point, his service manager, with whom you would be well-advised to strike up a friendly relationship, now, is the best person to advise you about the appropriate 'running-in' period for the new bike. Bear in mind that the modern motorcycle is a wondrous device when it comes to the quality of the metalurgy therein, and does not require the long period of time and restrictions that old fogies like me were used to when we were used to rebuilding engines every 30,000 miles as a matter of course, and then driving round with a "Running In" sign in the back window so people would know why we were driving so slowly :LOL:.
  3. unfortunately, some service managers, and the twits who write the service manual, are still stuck in the old days!