Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New bike, need knowledgable opinions...

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Maetrik, Jul 1, 2011.

1. I was going to post this in the specific bike thread but it only had cruisers, scooters and off road and i want to discuss sports bikes so im posting it here for lack of a more suitable forum.

I've been riding for 10 months on the road with about 10 years of dirtbike experience behind me. I own a Suzuki SFV650 Gladius that i've modified with an unrestricted ECU and power commander, so for what it is it goes pretty hard. However after completing a track day at PI, i really feel like i need to be looking at some supersports bikes. Without barking up my own tree, i was dominating the field of 40 riders in my group, the only limitation being the bike i was on.

Now my original choice was going to be a Triumph Daytona 675, however im 6"3' and around 100kg and don't want a bike that is too small for me like my current ride, so im considering venturing into the thou territory, namely a Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade. To be honest, i would much rather stay in the realms of a good supersports 600, as they're lighter, more nimble and practical if i need to use it to commute, however i dont want to be overbearing on the bike in terms of size. On the other hand, getting a thou would be great for my size but they're heavier, and hit their prime at speeds that simply aren't practical on public roads. Im really stuck for choice.