Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

New bike for older rider

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by koalashit, Aug 4, 2014.

1. My BMW R1100R is a terrific bike, a joy on long rides, comfortable, reliable and solid.
    However, in city traffic it does not perform so well where it can be heavy and slow which got me thinking of buying a new ride. Have been reading the reviews, tyre kicking and keeping my eyes peeled so now I am after suggestions. What bikes should be on my short list? Many I have looked at weigh a ton eg Triumpth Thunderbird LT 380kg (wtf).

My requirements:
    Bike must be suitable for long trips where it can carry me in comfort and luggage.
    Well made and reliable (I am no mechanic and flaws should not be passed off as character)
    Uprightish riding position (did I mention I am getting older)

Like to read your suggestions as I search for that elusive beast - the perfect bike for me!
  2. I'm chronically biased but I'd suggest a Honda VFR of some version, it's pretty much the Swiss-Army knife of motorcycles
  3. Ninja 1000
  4. Would an F 800 GT be too small? Nice bike with all the bells and whistles, and similar switching from the same brand for you.
  5. The Honda VFR and BMW F800 are both on my test ride list.
    Will begin to visit all the dealers and have some test rides once the days get some sun and it stops being bloody freezing!
    Thanks to those who have posted suggestions - I am appreciating the input.
  6. Hmm, if you're after light weight + upright riding position, I'm thinking a Yam MT-09 may be right up your alley.
  7. Sure is! :finger:

Dunno if this might work for you, but my system is to keep my R850R, and have a small, but still fun, bike....and a wee scooter, too.