Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Never riden before!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by prorider, Aug 31, 2007.

1. ok here goes..
    i am only 18 and a total noob with motorcycles..closest i've been to riding one is watching it zip past my car at the lights :cool: or an ATV years ago..i've been reading this forum for a few days now and my interest as grown and thought to myself why not go and get my L's and see what all this fuss is about..
    i live in S.E Melb.. is there a course where i could be taught the basics and test on the same day/weekend.. i know motorcyclemotion does some sort of stuff but price , length etc isnt explained..

is it hard to use all the gears/levers/throttle at once? :? :?

all comments/advice/tips welcome :grin:
  2. Interesting choice of username, for a 'total noob'... :wink:

Using all the bits and pieces at once is just like driving a manual car, your hands and feet do different things, but it all comes together with practice! I can't really help you with Melbourne pricing, but as a guideline, you can get your motorcycle L's in SA in a weekend, and it costs a bit under $300.
  3. First of all, welcome to Netrider, where all your questions WILL be answered. (Of course, we don't guarantee that the answers will be correct :LOL:.)

I'll leave it to the Melbourne locals to discuss courses, etc, but I WILL say that riding a bike, changing gear, braking, etc, is the most natural thing in the world and you won't have any trouble mastering it. God actually created motorbikes on His first day back at work after the Sabbath, but he knew He was going to, so he designed man to fit them perfectly.
  4. im bored at work and couldnt think of anything more creative :p i'll be 'pro' with the right advice from you guys!