Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

netrider rookie

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by Mr SMV, Nov 14, 2011.

1. G'day people,
    Obviously I'm new to this forum but I've been reading some of these threads for a while now and thought tonight I would finally get of my arse and register.

A little bit about myself, I'm a 40 yo and have had a full bike licence for around 20 years. I started riding in my early teens and have owned quite a few bikes in that time but they've always been dirt bikes.

As I've gotten older, injuries have crept up on me, and it was getting harder and harder to hit the dirt like I used to so last year I thought it was time to buy my first road bike. I did a few refresher courses with HART and so far it's been great. It's like I'm a kid again and discovering the joys of riding for the first time.

Anyhoo, that's about all I've got to say for now. Hopefully I'll get to know some of you guys in the Melbourne area and maybe even meet up for a ride every once in a while.

Cheers,
    Mr SMV

2. G'day SMV - welcome to to NR, and the asphalt. Nice to have you along.

Yeah, you don't fall down as often, but they tend to be big.

3. Thanks mate. Yeah I've already met Mr Asphalt. I was introduced to him by Mrs Nissan Pathfinder back in '96 when she made a right hand turn right in front of me. Got a broken arm and collar bone, my ride at the time, a '94 KLX took it a lot better than I did. My current bike would sustain a lot more damage if it were to happened again.

4. Welcome to the forum SMV :). Hope you enjoy the road as much as the dirt :D

5. welcome to posting on Netrider

so what bike do you have now?