Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Nervous or Thinking too much ?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by WantFreedom, Feb 22, 2015.

1. Hi Guys,

I started riding on 7 Feb so I haven't been riding much besides on mornings in the weekend but I'm putting the hours to get better, one thing I have been struggling with taking off from 1st to 2nd but once I get passed that I'm fine riding.

I have been practicing in industrial areas not far from home and today I finally had it down and working well taking off from 1st to 2nd it felt like I achieved something that was bothering me alot lately I was so happy anyway not to rush things I decided to head home and I had to stop at lights and go across the intersection and turn right onto Boronia Rd.

I do that goto take off bang clunk and stall there's a car behind me so I was pretty nervous I panic a bit and just pushed the bike to the side of the road not completing the corner to get my thoughts back and take off in a straight direction as I feel I struggle taking off from a stop to make a left and right turn as in crossing intersection.

I take off straight on Boronia Rd and didn't stall but the take off was no where near smooth as it was when I was practicing which I was like grrrr, so this afternoon I went back down to an industrial area and practiced taking off was pretty much perfect and I was really happy get back on the road to go home and stall once and things just aren't as smooth as they are in the industrial area.

I still plan on practicing these two things

1) Take off from first to second.
    2) Take off first to second making a left or right turn from lights such as crossing a intersection.