Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Nervous Going Down Hills

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Saspotato, Oct 31, 2012.

1. Hello

Does anyone have some advice for going down very steep hills? I am new to riding (one week since Ls, done about ten hours riding I guess) and I get really nervous going down hills as I feel like I am not in very much control, especially with corners. I went down Mt Macedon recently (in hindsight it was a bit beyond my skill level plus I'd already been riding for a lot of the day and was tired but I only realised this once I got to the top...) and had to go at a snails pace the whole way down which I don't mind because I am learning (most corners I go slow on, and if they are sharp I am at the recommended speed limit according to the signs or a bit below) but I was very nervous. One time I accidentally put the brakes on hard too and nearly skidded but was able to adjust in time. I put the bike down a gear which helped but any other tips would be helpful. Thanks :)
    • Keep your head and vision up, not down. Gaze at the end of the road/horizon, not the tarmac rushing toward your front wheel.
    • Gentle application of the back brake [when riding slow] will impart a sense of stability and safety. With experience, this won't be needed.
    • Continue to re-visit this steep hill when there's no to little traffic, in order to gain more experience. With proper practice comes confidence.
  2. Right gear ratio is better than relying heavily on braking. Also I try not to brake during a sharp downhill corner, but use the brakes more so before the corner itself,seems to work better, but I am no expert by any means.