Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Need some help with paperwork please

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Removed_User_5, Aug 12, 2005.

1. Hey,
    I got papaerwork issues and I hope somebody can offer some light.
    I start at the start.......

Wanted a bike so i went out and got my L permit. So thats ok.
    Now I bought a bike well bought it but its not at home with me yet due to papaerwork.

Second hand bike is a Vt250c Honda. VERY nice and in excellent nick.
    So now im finding out about RWC, registration cost, duty on cost and stuff.
    Im 30 yo. im a temporary resident on a work Visa from Scotland.

1, Should a second hand bike come with RWC certificate ?
    2, If not then how do I get the bike home ?
    3,Is the duty fee on price paid or market price ?
    4, Who is best for insurance ? never held a license of any description ever.
    5, Full comp or third party ?
    6, what a reasonable price for insurance if thats a viable question ?
    7, whats the order in which to get things done ?
    8, Can I get the RWC done on my own and where should I go ? Im living in KEW.Melbourne.
    I may have missed something that i not been told about yet so please offer any other advice i may not have thought of.

Vic roads are confusing when you dont get the whole legal stuff and they talk to you like you already know al this.
    I dont....!!!!

My bike is safe with the old owner and he is quite happy to keep it garaged until I sort all this out.
    I dont drive a car and I need to get to geelong to pick it up.
    So can I legally ride it home without it being in my name, no RWC and not registered in my name till i can get the thing to Vic roads to have an inspection done.....